Environmental Commission


  • 7:00 p.m., 3rd Tuesday of the month
  • 2024 Meeting Dates: January 16, February 20, March 19, April 16, May 21, June 18, July 16, September 17, October 15, November 13, December 17
  • All meetings held via Zoom platform unless noted on monthly agenda.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings, with Zoom links if needed. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Hardy Plant Society Lectures:

Hopewell, NJ Native Plant Swap Group on Facebook

The Commission consists of seven members who are appointed by the Mayor for three-year terms. The Mayor designates one of the members as Chair.

Member Term
Paul Kinney, Chair Term expires December 31, 2026
Michael Aucott
Term expires December 31, 2025
James Gambino
Term expires December 31, 2024
Mark Bean Term expires December 31, 2025
Rex Parker, Vice Chair
Term expires December 31, 2024
Andrew Plunkett  Term expires December 31, 2026​
Vanessa Sandom Term expires December 31, 2025
Kirsi Bhasin, Alternate #1
Term expires December 31, 2025
Vacant, Alternate #2    
Uma Purandare, Township Committee Liaison

About the Commission
The Hopewell Township Environmental Commission, established in 1974, has the power to conduct research into the uses of open land areas of the Township and may coordinate the activities of official bodies organized for similar purposes. It is charged with keeping an index of all open areas, publicly or privately owned, including open marsh lands, swamps, and other wetlands, in order to obtain information on the proper use of such areas. It may recommend to the Planning Board plans and programs for inclusion in a municipal master plan and also make recommendations about the development and use of such areas. The Environmental Commission may also, with the approval of the Township Committee, acquire property on behalf of the Township.